dapple grey…

Dapple Grey

Dapple Grey

When I was young, I was a very “horsey girl” – I dreamt and breathed horses, took riding lessons and even had a horse for a couple of years. Some of my first drawings were of horses – ok – most of my early drawings were horses!

For some reason this unpleasant little nursery rhyme has been in my head lately so I drew this picture to exorcise the poor pony! Here’s the rhyme for your reference.

I had a little pony,
His name was Dapple-grey.
I lent him to a lady,
To ride a mile away.

She whipped him, she slashed him,
She rode him through the mire.
I would not lend my pony now,
For all the lady’s hire.

image (cc) 2009 Hilary Farmer

Leave a Reply

