the amaryllis…

Tom's amaryllis

Tom's amaryllis

A friend sent me a photo of his prize amaryllis. Tom does not usually have much luck raising plants. Even saying he doesn’t have a green thumb at all is something of an understatement – which makes this gorgeous amaryllis all the more extraordinary. Actually, I just found out while googling to make sure I was spelling it right that this is not an amaryllis but a hippeastrum commonly and erroneously called amaryllis! Who knew? You’ll have to forgive me for keeping the common name in the title – if it’s what everyone uses, eventually it will be the correct one I suppose…

Anyway, I wanted to do the flower justice but felt it was lacking something on its own so I had a second try and added in Tom’s cat. I’d love to know which you prefer.

Tom's amaryllis with Sheewash the cat

Tom's amaryllis with Sheewash the cat

images (cc) 2009 Hilary Farmer

2 Responses to “the amaryllis…”

  1. Both are lovely, but the one with the cat is best.

    And I’ll have you know I haven’t actually killed a potted plant for many years! It’s those wild plants in the outdoors I have trouble with. This is the third year this one has flowered. The first year there was one flower. The second, it put up two stalks and both flowered. This year, one stalk, two flowers. I’m looking forward to next year.

    With regard to the name, the plant was a Christmas gift from one of my ex-sisters-in-law a few years ago, and came in a box that contained bulb, pot and soil. It said “amaryllis” on the box. Who knew a company would stoop to promulgating false information for the sake of sales. I’m shocked, I tell you, shocked!

  2. OK sorry! I should have differentiated the indoor vs outdoor plant issue! lol ( I thought you might have something to say about that! 😉

    Thankfully there is wikipedia to keep us sorted out on such questions otherwise we’d all be blithely going on thinking plants are one thing which are really another – and where would it all end??

Leave a Reply

