lotus girl…

on the lotus...

on the lotus...

I don’t think I have much to say about this image. It’s been in my mind for a couple of weeks. I’m working on a canvas which is related as well. I will be sure to post it – well, if I’m fairly happy with it!

Just to be clear, this is not meant to be me… I used to meditate somewhat regularly but haven’t for quite a while. It seems to be something that gets set aside when life gets busy – likely just when one needs it most! Anyway, I do tai chi and qi gong so for now those are the main meditative practices in my life.

I feel the girl in the image is stressed about something and having a hard time clearing her mind… So here’s a link a friend sent me recently of images which could disturb one’s meditation – don’t worry, PG rated!

image (cc) 2009 Hilary Farmer

7 Responses to “lotus girl…”

  1. The images of cast-off electronics and metals in the process of being recycled are interesting, but my inner cynic finds it more interesting that author of the blog (not the photographer) is describe as someone who “lives in New York, Mexico City, and San Juan,” suggesting a carbon footprint that would make a sasquach proud.

  2. Interesting! I missed that. One hopes she isn’t commuting from place to place on a daily basis! lol

  3. Travel is one of those things where my inner Kantian reminds me that if my behaviour was the rule we’d be in deep trouble. I feel a twinge of envy for someone who has homes in three places even while reminding myself of the issues it raises.

    I like your image, although I think the woman is stressed because she feels her posture isn’t quite perfect!

    • I would still feel the reverse – not centring the mind affects the posture! but everyone can have their own response to an image – that’s really the point!

  4. severnyproductions Says:

    you’ve done it agan

  5. I love the lotus transparency, as if it’s a figment of her imagination. Perhaps when her mind if totally clear, the lotus will be solid.

Leave a Reply

