why there’s a rabbit on the moon – part 1

one day ten suns rose in the sky

one day ten suns rose in the sky

Once, for reasons which are not adequately explained in the histories, ten suns rose in the sky instead of the usual one. As you might expect, this caused considerable suffering. The earth became parched and the crops were quickly burnt up. Because of their great suffering, the people promised to give anything he wished to the one who could solve this terrible problem.

I am trying something a bit different – this is the beginning of a story especially for the autumn season. It is traditionally associated with the mid autumn festival in China. The festival is coming up on October 3rd this year. I am retelling the story very freely from a variety of sources and some personal input – there will be about 10 segments – I hope you enjoy it!

image and text variant (cc) 2009 Hilary Farmer

6 Responses to “why there’s a rabbit on the moon – part 1”

  1. This is the folktale that my husband and I used as the basis for the title of our novel, Rabbit in the Moon. As you say here, there are many versions. But since our story has to do with finding the secret of longevity, we used the one where the rabbit is pounding on the elixir of life.

  2. Hey, I count eleven suns! It must be a reference to the hallucinatory state of the poor parched people!

    (I tried to comment earlier but wasn’t logged in, so there may be a copy of this comment waiting in the queue.)

  3. Oooops!! Good catch – trust you to count them!
    I may just have to do a quick touch up lol…

    • There. Now we have just ten suns. I’ll definitely have to blame that on the heat stroke šŸ˜‰
      …and yes, if you’re not logged on (or haven’t commented before) the comment waits until I approve it. Now having two the same, I hope you won’t mind if I delete the earlier one…

      • Counting things is a ridiculously important part of what I do–I catch more bugs by making sure counts of various kinds come out right than any other single technique, so my reflex is always to count first, ask questions later.

        Now if I could only speel-check so you and Max didn’t have to find all my poetic goofs!

        Please do delete the earlier comment. It ain’t exactly deathless prose.

        I really like the parched landscape and huddled peasants. Very evocative.

Leave a Reply

