why there’s a rabbit on the moon – part 13

the pill of immortality

Indeed, Houyi’s immortality would only doom his subjects and their descendants to unending torment. So Chang’e kept certain things secret…

image and text variant (cc) 2009 Hilary Farmer

Originally, I had thought that there would be about ten parts to this story… now I think there will be almost double that. Still, I am trying to complete it before the solstice – it is supposed to be an autumn tale after all!

6 Responses to “why there’s a rabbit on the moon – part 13”

  1. Beautiful glow!

    I wouldn’t worry about the solstice, it’s almost summer in the south anyway and the Internet is global 🙂

  2. Isn’t there something about starting at the beginning, telling the story to the end, and then stopping being the way to figure out how long a story should be?

    I’m really enjoying this series, and the pacing is excellent: the unhurried pacing makes an interesting contrast and commentary on Houyi’s arrogant and brutal behaviour, and the images are so rich and interesting that longer is definitely better!

    I’m still waiting for more rabbit, though! 😀

    • Thank you Tom!
      Just so you know, in some versions of this story, Houyi continues to be a hero from start to finish – it just doesn’t ring true to me though… anyway, glad you’re continuing to enjoy it and YES, there’s more rabbit coming!

      • I was not familiar with this story before I read your version so I guess for me, Houyi will always represent the tyrant archetype.

  3. Cool! I’ve warped someone’s objective perceptions forever!

Leave a Reply

