cat, bird and vase…

room with a view

This is an “imagine what might happen next” kind of image. It’s possible the cat will get bored and just wander away… but maybe she will fling herself at the window via the little table holding the vase… such a pretty vase too…

I know I mentioned the comic Nedroid just recently but just check out this recent comic – there’s a kitty with a strangely appealing philosophy!

image (cc) 2010 Hilary Farmer

6 Responses to “cat, bird and vase…”

  1. Warm interior, cold exterior, very nice contrast and color balance

  2. I’m reminded of Thomas Gray’s poem “On a Favourite Cat, Drowned in a Bowl of Goldfishes”–it’s clear from the poem’s description that the goldfish bowl is an opaque vase (“where China’s azure art is dyed”) so I’m wondering if the cat doesn’t have more choices for mischief than you think!

    [Gray was describing an actual event, probably–the author of “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard” could no more be mean to cats than I could!]

    {You should illustrate “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard”–at least the first verse:

    The tolling of the curfew sounds the parting day
    The lowing herd drifts slowly o’re the lea
    The plowman homeward wends his weary way
    And leaves the world to darkness, and to me.

    Wolfe said he would have rather written that poem than have won the Battle of the Plains of Abraham, and I have to say he had his priorities straight. It is certainly one of the greatest poems in the English language.}

    • Nice suggestion Tom! I may just do that… and may I say, interesting use of brackets!! I thought you only had to do that if they were nested… or is that just math?

  3. This reminds me of a Matisse, the red room. I just love it. The contrast of the vase and the cat on the red….wonderful. I so enjoy your doodles!

Leave a Reply

