what if – part 11…

a helping hand... or fin!

Well, we left our little Coracle taking on water and in some trouble… but I think she has the sense to have a backup plan and friends to help her out of difficulties when they arise out in the expanses of the seas – not really a “silly cow”!! And don’t worry, she’s just having a little nap while her friends tow her to the island! Well, OK she may be a bit embarrassed…

Please click on this one to get a good view – this setup isn’t kind to horizontal format drawings!

Here’s a another link from Cute Overload – I picked it because it seems almost weird enough to fit into the world of our story…

Looking forward to the next instalment of poetic story? Don’t forget to check the comments!
UPDATE – NEXT INSTALMENT OF STORY NOW IN COMMENTS – ENJOY!!

image (cc) 2010 Hilary Farmer

7 Responses to “what if – part 11…”

  1. i think its cool.
    i sense you enjoyed dong this one

  2. [Warning: contains surrealism, poetic irregularities and graphic imagery. May only be suitable for children.]

    “I know that he saved you, but surely he thought
    alive he could lure you into his pot
    where he’d boil your poor body and feast on your bones
    and render your fat to butter his scones!”

    “That’s an image I’d say I could just do without
    but Cedric’s next actions allayed any doubt:
    he meant us no harm, he wanted us safe
    without the least interest in having a taste
    of our bones or our skin or even our fat:
    his folk eat just sea-weed, and little of that!”

    “Your Glask was named ‘Cedric’? That must be a lie!
    I’ve heard they’re called things like ‘Humans-Must-Die’!”

    “You’ve been misinformed, on that and much more
    for Cedric and Coracle opened a door
    that contained a great horn he proceeded to blow
    while your uncle and I ran on, to and fro
    to bail out the water that was still on the rise
    until we were stopped in our tracks by surprise!
    For what had they summoned but High-Sailing Sharks
    whose scales were as bright in the moonlight as sparks!”

    “Fierce creatures to eat you when the boat sinks!
    I see where this story is going me-thinks!”

    “I think to see further you need to come down
    off this high mountain and out of this town,
    for quick as a waggle of a little lamb’s tail
    Cedric had harnessed those sharks while we bailed
    and cried out with earnest and zealous intent,
    ‘On Dolphin, on Diver, on Flasher and Blixen!
    Oh that’s the wrong poem! I need to get fixin’
    this narrative defect…’ and then the world changed
    it was sunny and there was the island in range
    of our little boat, now foundering fast
    but saved by the powers of Cedric the Glask!”

    Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

    🙂

    I hope this isn’t too weird (or too graphic–Cindy Lou has a fascination with the grizzly and horrifying, apparently)!

    As soon as I saw the image I knew I had to somehow reference that other poem, the most famous anapestic tetrameter, and that kinda warped the whole thing, but I hope in a good way! The fact that the previous image is at night and this one is in full day was an added bonus, and breaking the rhyme scheme hard is always fun to do too.

    • I love it! well, maybe it is pretty grizzly – as you say suitable only for children – lol! I must say, I hadn’t thought that the pink fish were sharks – high-sailing or otherwise! Cedric – great name for a glask! Cindy-Lou’s vision of the world is definitely twisted by lack of real knowledge that’s for sure…

  3. Carrie Says:

    Indeed, my favourite drawing so far of the series. Note: I said “so far!” *grin* The water is wonderful, particularly near the sharks and boat! Really does look best in the larger format!
    Now the poem….the last 2 have really tickled me! If only suited for children, I’d best go get my dolly!
    You two are fabulous!

Leave a Reply

