what if – part 12…

an " 'island fling"??

OK that’s a terrible pun but I couldn’t resist. Remember that the island folk had a Celtic sounding name and then there they were dancing… so the highland fling came to mind… and yes, they’re out walking their birds. Not sure why… Hopefully Tom can help with that when he sends in the next poetic segment!

UPDATE: POETRY ABOUNDS – CHECK COMMENTS!
I have added a category for the “what if” series so if you’re just starting, you can click on it to see all of them without distractions and for maximum amusement value – check the comments!

image (cc) 2010 Hilary Farmer

6 Responses to “what if – part 12…”

  1. Most excellent silhouette of Cindy-Lou’s uncle (whom I’ve been assiduously referring to as “Cindy-Lou’s uncle” or variations thereof, and not that other potentially proprietary name!) I’ll see what I can dream up on the plane tomorrow–probably won’t post the poem ’til Friday! It’s going to have something to do with Arisophanes, I think…

  2. “Did you make a safe harbour before she went down?
    Or did you and McDuff and my poor uncle drown?”

    “That’s not quite a question I’d really expect,
    as the answer is well in your grasp to detect!

    “We made it, of course your uncle and me,
    and Cedric the Glask jumped out and swam free
    along with the sharks, that toothy quartet,
    whose grammar never us down had let. [*]
    Then sturdy McDuff pulled Coracle out
    to careen her with ease although she did shout
    to take care of her delicate hull and her keel
    and think just how sand on her bottom must feel.”

    “Your poor little ship, doomed to languish a-beach!”

    “We had her patched up and afloat like a peach
    before the next day, which gave my heart ease:
    for in the bright dawn I heard a great sneeze
    and a sound like the clearing of thousands of throats,
    it was followed by long roaring musical notes!”

    “What savage musicians were playing a tune?
    Were there naked dancers and singers that croon?”

    “Were there indeed! It was Cloud-cookoo-land! [**]
    The Brogga-dan-oan were dancing the strand
    with birds trapped in cages held high in the air!
    Your uncle and I just stood there and stared!”

    [*] Winston Churchill once said that people who insisted that ending a sentence with a preposition were engaging in “the kind of pedantry up with which I will not put!” Apparently the Sail-Fin Sharks are highly grammatical, possibly even pedantic, animals, although just why our narrator should be aware of this is not clear. Perhaps they had to negotiate through some other narrative dimensions when Cedric pulled them into the correct line…

    [**] The kingdom of the birds established in Arisophanes’ “The Birds”. Just why they were walking their birds is not entirely clear, although it may become so in future when I am less jet-lagged!

    • A poem with footnotes – I love it! Although I’m thinking there’s something missing from Churchill’s thought in the first one? I’m glad you took care of Coracle – I wouldn’t want her to be “languishing a-beach” either!
      I love that the beginning of the dawn chorus of birds starts with a sneeze and throat clearing lol Perhaps my next image may inspire some ideas about the birds in cages mystery.

      • I’m pretty sure Churchill’s thought is complete… the line in the poem is deliberately awkward (making fun of grammar nazis, who are the enemies of poetry!) but can be read to scan correctly.

        Lovely grey morning here… not even raining! Off to start the round of family visits! Looking forward to seeing the next instalment. I’m deeply curious as to what the Bogga-dan-oan are up to!

      • Ok, I see it now! Oops!

        Yes, it should be “Winston Churchill once said that people who insisted that ending a sentence with a preposition was unacceptable were engaging in “the kind of pedantry up with which I will not put!'”

Leave a Reply

