raccoon day…

mmm...but that looks even more delicious...

I seem to be continuing my current theme of animals and water… Raccoons are a species notorious for being clever with their “hands”. At our family cottage we used to keep the garbage in a bin… then we changed to a barrel with a tightly screwed on lid… then we added two concrete blocks on top. Each time, the raccoons figured out how to get access to our yummy-to-them left-overs. I’ve pictured the one above in a more pristine setting getting ready to wash and eat some watery delicacy.

UPDATE: This in from TR in the comments… If you want to hear more about his own raccoon adventures, read about it in the comments!

It isn’t easy keeping track
of all the splendid places
where a coon might find a snack
or berries hung in braces

from long vines near water’s edge
where washing on the rocks
can be performed while near the hedge
that hides you from the flocks

of humans who come gawking close
all clumsy and profane
to stick their long and ugly nose
into the coon’s domain

of water, stone and bushes deep
the secret forest places
where a cuddly coon might sleep
safe from human traces.

poem (c) Tom Radcliffe 2010

image (cc) 2010 Hilary Farmer

4 Responses to “raccoon day…”

  1. This is great.
    I’ve not seen a post of yours in a while.
    Still impresses me

  2. Hey, this is awesome! I took some pictures of coons today in Stanley Park specifically to send to you, and was almost eaten by coon while picking blackberries a while later! I was using the necktie I keep in my knapsack for just such emergencies to “fish” for berries by casting it up into the vines where it would hook on the prickles and let me pull the berries back to me. I was reaching up and out over the blackberry patch with my feet in amongst the vines when a couple of raccoons started fighting (or something) VERY LOUDLY in the midst of the vines–it sounded like they were inches from my bare sandalled toes. I got out without injury, but given rabies is a problem in the raccoon population in Vancouver I moved pretty quickly!

    In any case, a poem based on your image and the dozen-odd coons we saw in the park today:

    It isn’t easy keeping track
    of all the splendid places
    where a coon might find a snack
    or berries hung in braces

    from long vines near water’s edge
    where washing on the rocks
    can be performed while near the hedge
    that hides you from the flocks

    of humans who come gawking close
    all clumsy and profane
    to stick their long and ugly nose
    into the coon’s domain

    of water, stone and bushes deep
    the secret forest places
    where a cuddly coon might sleep
    safe from human traces.

    🙂

    Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

    Not one of my best, but hey, I’m on vacation! Up to Whistler tomorrow for a couple of days. Woo hoo!

    • Hey Tom! Thanks!! “not one of your best”?? It’s very cute…and I love the way the lines flow from the end of one stanza to the beginning of the next one! I’m just not sure how cuddly raccoons are… except perhaps to other raccoons! lol I didn’t really expect to hear from you while you were away anyway so this is bonus!
      I just finished an awesome (I think) new image for our secret project 😀

Leave a Reply

