pretty bird…

 

long tailed bird

 

After drawing several creatures of the sea, I thought I might try a few of the sky… This one is a “doctor bird”. I wonder what this little guy is looking so askance at!

I hope you like the new style. I’ve started using a Chinese brush (digital of course) and the effect is quite pleasant I think!

UPDATE: New from Tom in the comments a hilarious poetic response to the image!

It’s awfully high up on this branch!
You too, you too, would look askance
if you’d landed way up here
then realized you have a fear
of heights!

I think that I’ll just take a breath
forget the plunge of certain death
that awaits beneath these things
upon my back: could they be wings?
So light!

Of course! Now I remember what
they are, I am. I just forgot!
Some days I drive myself insane
I’m such a silly goose bird-brain!
Alright!

You see the problem is my tail,
it’s huge and elegant: I sail
through the skies so gracefully
but my brain’s distastefully
a mite!

So now and then I do forget
just who I am or why I’m wet
when I flutter in a bath
but I look gorgeous on the path
of flight!

Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

image (cc) 2010 Hilary Farmer

4 Responses to “pretty bird…”

  1. Beautiful! I like to do watercolor paintings of birds. I like this style very much, though.

  2. It’s awfully high up on this branch!
    You too, you too, would look askance
    if you’d landed way up here
    then realized you have a fear
    of heights!

    I think that I’ll just take a breath
    forget the plunge of certain death
    that awaits beneath these things
    upon my back: could they be wings?
    So light!

    Of course! Now I remember what
    they are, I am. I just forgot!
    Some days I drive myself insane
    I’m such a silly goose bird-brain!
    Alright!

    You see the problem is my tail,
    it’s huge and elegant: I sail
    through the skies so gracefully
    but my brain’s distastefully
    a mite!

    So now and then I do forget
    just who I am or why I’m wet
    when I flutter in a bath
    but I look gorgeous on the path
    of flight!

    Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

    🙂

    I really like the new technique!

Leave a Reply

