parakeet doodle…

 

showing his colours...

 

I did this doodle on the train on my way home for Thanksgiving (yes Canadian). The jiggly motion of the train explains the especially loose and open quality. I was originally thinking I would touch it up when I got to firmer ground but I decided that I like it this way – it reminds me of the motion of the train ride.

I remember once when sketching on a trip in Portugal, the wind whipped the paper causing a jagged pen line across my drawing.  At first I was annoyed but whenever I look at that drawing I am transported back to the hilltop and the feeling of the wind in my hair as I sketched that church.

UPDATE: New poem from Tom in the comments – thanks Tom!!

Squaaawk! I am a rusty hinge
flying through the air well-singed
with cries of parakeets a-binged
on fruits and nuts from orchard’s fringe!

We flock in floods above the Earth
swoop down wherever there’s a dearth
of colour or of tropic mirth
then off we fly for all we’re worth!

Maybe eagles are more proud
and geese and ducks form bigger crowds
while swans are stately in their shrouds
but parakeets are bright and loud!

For all the sky is ours to roam
an open airy peaceful home
beside the ocean edged with foam
our fight is motion’s endless poem!

Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

image (cc) 2010 Hilary Farmer

4 Responses to “parakeet doodle…”

  1. I like the volume and movement… One of my favorite drawings so far! Maybe you should try sketching in the subway! 🙂

  2. Thanks Max! The problem with the subway is more that it is hard to concentrate when you have to pay attention to where you need to get off!

  3. Squaaawk! I am a rusty hinge
    flying through the air well-singed
    with cries of parakeets a-binged
    on fruits and nuts from orchard’s fringe!

    We flock in floods above the Earth
    swoop down wherever there’s a dearth
    of colour or of tropic mirth
    then off we fly for all we’re worth!

    Maybe eagles are more proud
    and geese and ducks form bigger crowds
    while swans are stately in their shrouds
    but parakeets are bright and loud!

    For all the sky is ours to roam
    an open airy peaceful home
    beside the ocean edged with foam
    our fight is motion’s endless poem!

    🙂

    Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

    There were flocks of green parakeets much like this one that lived wild in the skies above Pasadena, and they sounded just like a flock of rusty hinges flying by when they passed overhead. Beautiful birds, with the most incongruous call you could imagine.

    I love the free style of this image. I think you and the motion of the train collaborated very effectively!

    • Thanks Tom! when I read the first line I wondered “what the…” but it all makes sense now! Amazing how you can come up with something appropriate for my images – and yet another rhyme scheme!

Leave a Reply

