love birds…

give us a kiss...

Another bird doodle…

I recently discovered an amusing historical gem among webcomics… Check out Hark, a vagrant ! and keep an open mind – history was never this funny…

UPDATE: From Tom in the comments, a poem about an older couple (of birds) who had never told each other properly they loved each other… sad and sweet…

“This old branch has seen some things
across the vale of years:
the flocks of fall and flights of spring,
hasn’t it my dear?”

“Don’t be daft, of course it has!
You always say those words
before we fly off to La Paz [*]
in coloured airborne herds”

“Yet still it’s true, and we’ve took part,
so many of those seasons,
since those days, when young at heart
we listened to love’s reasons.”

“Love’s reasons and my father’s beak–
–me in the family way–
it seems to me you didn’t speak
except ‘I do’ to say!”

“That’s just why I’m saying now
it hasn’t been so bad,
this life with you, although we row,
and sometimes I am sad.”

“Well that’s a faint and damning praise!
How do you really feel?
Don’t stint your words or miss a phrase:
what’s in your heart for real?”

“What’s in my heart? It’s full of love.
That’s what I’m trying to tell:
more than mourning fills a dove,
with love for you I swell.
We’ve flown through storms that scattered flocks
yet always found each other,
up on the hills or down by docks
I’ve always found my lover.”

“Well… I… What…? Who…?
That is, I think I mean!
Well, then, my dear, let’s bill and coo,
until it’s time to dream!”

Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

2 Responses to “love birds…”

  1. “This old branch has seen some things
    across the vale of years:
    the flocks of fall and flights of spring,
    hasn’t it my dear?”

    “Don’t be daft, of course it has!
    You always say those words
    before we fly off to La Paz [*]
    in coloured airborne herds”

    “Yet still it’s true, and we’ve took part,
    so many of those seasons,
    since those days, when young at heart
    we listened to love’s reasons.”

    “Love’s reasons and my father’s beak–
    –me in the family way–
    it seems to me you didn’t speak
    except ‘I do’ to say!”

    “That’s just why I’m saying now
    it hasn’t been so bad,
    this life with you, although we row,
    and sometimes I am sad.”

    “Well that’s a faint and damning praise!
    How do you really feel?
    Don’t stint your words or miss a phrase:
    what’s in your heart for real?”

    “What’s in my heart? It’s full of love.
    That’s what I’m trying to tell:
    more than mourning fills a dove,
    with love for you I swell.
    We’ve flown through storms that scattered flocks
    yet always found each other,
    up on the hills or down by docks
    I’ve always found my lover.”

    “Well… I… What…? Who…?
    That is, I think I mean!
    Well, then, my dear, let’s bill and coo,
    until it’s time to dream!”

    🙂

    Copyright (C) 2010 Tom Radcliffe

    [*] Almost certainly not properly pronounced to rhyme with “has” but do really think a bird is gonna know that?

    The image gives me the sense of an older couple who’ve never told each other properly how much they love each other!

    • Thanks Tom – very sweet. It reminds me very much of an older couple I know – although one of them is recently departed and so it makes the poem even more touching for me…

Leave a Reply

