Queen Elizabeth I…3

her regal regalness...

OK, just one more Queen Elizabeth the first… she’s so much fun to draw – what great outfits!

image (cc) 2011 Hilary Farmer

UPDATE: New poem from Tom!

This moment is the legacy
of long uncertain years
from Mother’s own beheading
to Father’s deathbed fears

My brother, sister, soon undone
by the Crown’s cold weight
while in the wings I bided
patient for my fate

To be the Queen of England’s Realm
and in my image shape
this septre’d isle, this seat of Mars,
in Peace be dusty draped

For though the future looms unknown
my youth has taught me well
that war is pointless, wasting lives,
it makes of Heaven, Hell

So though my reign may yet be long
and England’s needs be all
I’ll turn my will and shape my power
to cloak us from war’s fall.

Copyright (C) 2011 Tom Radcliffe

7 Responses to “Queen Elizabeth I…3”

  1. Much younger, isn’t she? I see in her eyes she still believes she can freely enjoy life. She doesn’t yet know how little freedom comes with controlling the world.

  2. This moment is the legacy
    of long uncertain years
    from Mother’s own beheading
    to Father’s deathbed fears

    My brother, sister, soon undone
    by the Crown’s cold weight
    while in the wings I bided
    patient for my fate

    To be the Queen of England’s Realm
    and in my image shape
    this septre’d isle, this seat of Mars,
    in Peace be dusty draped

    For though the future looms unknown
    my youth has taught me well
    that war is pointless, wasting lives,
    it makes Heaven Hell

    So though my reign may yet be long
    and Englands needs be all
    I’ll turn my will and shape my power
    to cloak us from war’s fall.

    Copyright (C) 2011 Tom Radcliffe

    Elizabeth I was a much loved and much hated ruler for pretty much the same reason: she was a cold-hearted pragmatist who did everything in her power to keep England out of Continental wars, thus repairing the Treasury after her father’s financially disastrous reign. Ordinarily sane people loved her for this. Profiteers and glory-seekers, who wanted to grab a bigger slice of a smaller pie at the expense of everyone else, hated her for it.

    • Grr… that should be “it makes of Heaven, Hell” and “England’s” should have an apostrophe! I was bugging Alex the other day to improve his proof-reading skills, but the apple doesn’t fall far from the trea! 😀

    • Interesting how you’ve managed to illustrate such disparate sides of her personality and life in the three poems! Don’t worry, I will edit the typos when I put the poem into the post. (trea lol)

      • Hey, I just write what I see! You’ve done a great job of capturing the different sides of her personality, which was rich and deep and changed significantly over her lifetime, from strong-willed young woman to powerful… well, “Matriarch” can’t be the right word, but you know what I mean!

Leave a Reply

