random character…

graceful as...

Here’s a doodle I hope you’ll like. Although I was drawing with nothing in particular in mind, I like the flow and looseness of the sketch. Sometimes when I have something too specific to draw, I lose that.

UPDATE: Poem from Tom! Thanks Tom!!

Random greens and purples too
thrown randomly together
like lilies in the fields astrew
or filigrees on feathers

catch the eye and form a shape
of flouncing fancy fun,
in the summer brightly draped
beneath the rising sun.

Copyright (C) 2011 Tom Radcliffe

image (cc) 2011 Hilary Farmer

2 Responses to “random character…”

  1. Random greens and purples too
    thrown randomly together
    like lilies in the fields astrew
    or filigrees on feathers

    catch the eye and form a shape
    of flouncing fancy fun,
    in the summer brightly draped
    beneath the rising sun.

    Copyright (C) 2011 Tom Radcliffe

    Loose and free is good! I find that often the best way to get what I want if I’m trying to create something specific is to focus on it intently for a while, write around it a bit, and then forget about it consciously while actually engaged in the act of creation. About half the time that takes me down the wrong road and I need to start over, but the separation of conscious intentionality from the subconscious process of creation seems to work pretty well on average.

    In some ways it’s like a performance: you practice so you know what you want to do, but on the night it’s still spontaneous, if it’s right.

Leave a Reply

