random alien…

sad alien...

I haven’t been posting much lately because I have been so busy with work and creating drawings for Songs of Albion, so today I decided to just do a very quick doodle and just see what appeared on the “page” first. This sad alien seems to be gazing towards his home world… I think he’s home sick poor guy… but also a bit philosophical. What do you think?

UPDATE: lovely new poem from Tom for this image! I think we’ve all felt like that…

Far Sagittarius has yet to rise
above the curved horizon of this world
where perhaps another pair of eyes
look outward toward this stellar system swirled
around the Centre, deep within the core
of this great Galaxy of stars. I wait
to see the light of Home… it might restore
my willingness to now accept my fate:
a lone observer on this outpost Earth
bereft of contact with my kindred kind
where wealth is all but love is ever dearth
and violence all too often rules the mind.
I walk amongst them, wistful and alone,
Longing for a word from distant home.

Copyright (C) 2011 Tom Radcliffe

image (cc) 2011 Hilary Farmer

4 Responses to “random alien…”

  1. He might feel a little wistful. I wonder what is his story. Maybe one day you’ll tell us in a comic.

  2. My take:

    Far Sagittarius has yet to rise
    above the curved horizon of this world
    where perhaps another pair of eyes
    look outward toward this stellar system swirled
    around the Centre, deep within the core
    of this great Galaxy of stars. I wait
    to see the light of Home… it might restore
    my willingness to now accept my fate:
    a lone observer on this outpost Earth
    bereft of contact with my kindred kind
    where wealth is all but love is ever dearth
    and violence all too often rules the mind.
    I walk amongst them, wistful and alone,
    Longing for a word from distant home.

    Copyright (C) 2011 Tom Radcliffe

    Lovely image! Very evocative!

Leave a Reply

