face doodle…

thinking...

Once again I have been very busy with making drawings and keeping up a decent buffer for Albion and so have been spending less time creating images especially for this blog… and when I do, they are quicker sketches rather than very detailed or designed. However, I still feel that it is possible to learn something from spontaneous doodling and so I am sharing this example. Besides, doodling is fun!

In other news, I am now on Twitter so you can follow me @hjfarmer When I figure out how to, I will add the link to the blog! For some reason the first time I tried, the whole configuration of my blog changed – and we can’t be havin’ with that!

UPDATE: New sonnet from Tom. Thanks!!

What fresh-faced bloom of golden youth
What rosy cheeks and limpid eyes
Wide open to perceive the truth
Not anticipating lies:
He’s unafraid and curious
About the world mysterious
As he sets off to go… explore
And open up each hidden door.
A decade gone the bloom will wither
The field of innocence will grow
Long hedges: wisdom row on row
Calling truths from hence to hither
While those eyes will ever strive
To see that beauty can survive.

Copyright (C) 2011 TJ Radcliffe

image (cc) 2011 Hilary Farmer

5 Responses to “face doodle…”

  1. What fresh-faced bloom of golden youth
    What rosy cheeks and limpid eyes
    Wide open to perceive the truth
    Not anticipating lies:
    He’s unafraid and curious
    About the world mysterious
    As he sets off to go… explore
    And open up each hidden door.
    A decade gone the bloom will wither
    The field of innocence will grow
    Long hedges: wisdom row on row
    Calling truths from hence to hither
    While those eyes will ever strive
    To see that beauty can survive.

    Copyright (C) 2011 TJ Radcliffe

    I really like this image… he seems so innocent and young, but I think there’s also some inner strength that isn’t going to bend in the face of life’s less fortunate realities. This is another Pushkin sonnet, which I’m still struggling with, form-wise!

    • How interesting that you saw “her” as a “him”! I guess she is a bit androgynous… could be an Elizabethan youth! Anyway, lovely poem!

      • Even knowing you see “him” as a “her” I still can’t shake the impression he’s male! We need a poll of your readership!

  2. I think it’s because of the neck, just large enough that he could be a man, but not so large that she can’t be a woman.

    I like the slight cubist effect I perceive, between the top and the bottom part of the face. Gives it a sense of peripheral vision movement

Leave a Reply

