impressionistic doodle…

water and flowers...

A very loose and quick doodle today. I was thinking of using a Monet for a starting point as I did for Remembrance Day but in the end I just started doodling randomly and this is the result. Water and flowers… always pretty!

UPDATE: New poem from Tom – lovely, evocative…

The morning mist upon the pond
draws my eye from here, beyond
the croaking frogs whose call inspires
their distant cousins to respond.

Across the field of dewy flowers
there in some wooded secret bower
awaits a question in the dark
calling me with silent power.

A mourning dove is cooing soft
a duck in panic bursts aloft
to startle me from reverie
my path now turning toward the croft.

The pond is still in golden light
but I have years still left to fight
and ancient wrongs to yet make right
and ancient wrongs to yet make right.

With apologies to Robert Frost! :-D

(c) Tom Radcliffe 2011

image (cc) 2011 Hilary Farmer

4 Responses to “impressionistic doodle…”

  1. The morning mist upon the pond
    draws my eye from here, beyond
    the croaking frogs whose call inspires
    their distant cousins to respond.

    Across the field of dewy flowers
    there in some wooded secret bower
    awaits a question in the dark
    calling me with silent power.

    A mourning dove is cooing soft
    a duck in panic bursts aloft
    to startle me from reverie
    my path now turning toward the croft.

    The pond is still in golden light
    but I have years still left to fight
    and ancient wrongs to yet make right
    and ancient wrongs to yet make right.

    With apologies to Robert Frost! 😀

    Frost’s poem is fascinatingly, deceptively, simple. I’ve played around with the theme and the language on several occasions and come to deeply appreciate the profound unity of the original, which I have notably failed to replicate here, mixing sound and sight, woodland and farmland images–a “croft” is a small farm held by a tenant farmer, particularly in Scotland–and so on.

    • Hey! I like this quite a lot! I like the “haiku moment” when after setting the scene and mood, something startling happens – the duck – to tie the moment to the eternal… I could hear the frantic wing flaps in my mind 🙂

      • I’m glad you like it… on re-reading I’ll go so far as to admit it ain’t dreadful, and I guess “not as good as Robert Frost” might be a slightly unrealistic standard!

Leave a Reply

