one quarter face…

studying as usual...

A very quick sketch today… sometimes it is best to catch someone while they are absorbed and not aware of being drawn. While this angle doesn’t show much, it’s nice to explore different views of the face.

UPDATE: New Pushkin sonnet from Tom!

Sometimes I get this funny feeling
that someone’s watching in the wings
just out of vision’s circle, stealing
glimpses of some hidden things.
Perhaps it’s my imagination
but it plays hob with concentration
when I feel I’m being watched
by a hunter, arrow notched.
Who knows what lurks on darkened paths
that lie beyond the realm of sight
encapsulated by the night:
the western star’s eternal baths.
There’s something watching me, I’m sure,
behind the veil of night obscure.

Copyright (C) 2011 TJ Radcliffe

image (cc) 2011 Hilary Farmer

3 Responses to “one quarter face…”

  1. Sometimes I get this funny feeling
    that someone’s watching in the wings
    just out of vision’s circle, stealing
    glimpses of some hidden things.
    Perhaps it’s my imagination
    but it plays hob with concentration
    when I feel I’m being watched
    by a hunter, arrow notched.
    Who knows what lurks on darkened paths
    that lie beyond the realm of sight
    encapsulated by the night:
    the western star’s eternal baths.
    There’s something watching me, I’m sure,
    behind the veil of night obscure.

    Copyright (C) 2011 TJ Radcliffe

    This is mostly an experiment with the Pushkin form. I justify the slightly silly rhyme of “baths” with “paths” with a reference to Tennyson’s Ulysses:

    “Push off, and sitting well in order smite
    The sounding furrows; for my purpose holds
    To sail beyond the sunset, and the baths
    Of all the western stars, until I die.”

    I also find the use of “notched” jarring, although it’s as corrected as “nocked”, apparently.

    Lovely image!

    • I like the poem… really gives that feeling…
      but nocked? what’s that??

      • The nock is the notch at the end of an arrow that accepts the bowstring. An arrow that is on the string is said to be “nocked” or “notched” (reading “Robin Hood” was an important early influence on my vocabulary!)

        Glad you like the poem!

Leave a Reply

