Marlowe by firelight…

flickering light

A quick post with a teaser from Songs of Albion. We are trying to keep a good buffer so this picture which I just drew won’t come up in the story until February. I am pleased with how the lighting and texture turned out. As well I think the expression does represent what he has just learned… not good news at all.

UPDATE: New poem from Tom for this image:

Old shadows dance across the light while ghost’s
dry crackled voices whisper in the dark
behind the fire. Bright sparks rise high above
the burning battlefield where memory
lies wounded in the wake of noble war
while all around my sometime comrades die
without the benefit of glory. I am
alone and still those knights of memory ride
out to the fields and charge each other down
for king or God or lady’s sacred favour,
down in droves while arrows fall unnoted
midst the ranks of human children grown
to fight and kill and die while shadows dance
behind the fire’s light as darkness whispers.

Copyright (C) 2012 TJ Radcliffe

image (cc) 2012 Hilary Farmer

8 Responses to “Marlowe by firelight…”

  1. He is sitting near a camp-fire isn’t he? Beautiful warmth! I can hear the fire crackling!

  2. Thanks Max! That’s exactly the effect I was going for 🙂

  3. David Mills Says:

    I haven’t seen the whole spectrum of your work which I like a lot and have forwarded around to friends. That said this piece speaks to me like none of the others. First the palette resonates and strikes a harmony with my eyes and soul which I am want to describe. Then what you have created in the expression of that face is extraordinary. Kudos!!

    • Thanks very much. I am very pleased that other people are enjoying this image too. I was trying something a bit different which can backfire – but in this case atmosphere and character came together.
      Now, if I could just get that to happen every time!

      • David Mills Says:

        Most of the time is extraordinary, some of the time is blessed. Just let it flow. The rest will take care of itself. I have a couple of projects that I am really interested in talking to you about but given my other projects even talking about them is probably six months out. Nevertheless I hope we can stay in touch. And Happy New Year!!

      • Happy New Year to you too – and let me know when the time comes…

  4. Old shadows dance across the light while ghost’s
    dry crackled voices whisper in the dark
    behind the fire. Bright sparks rise high above
    the burning battlefield where memory
    lies wounded in the wake of noble war
    while all around my sometime comrades die
    without the benefit of glory. I am
    alone and still those knights of memory ride
    out to the fields and charge each other down
    for king or God or lady’s sacred favour,
    down in droves while arrows fall unnoted
    midst the ranks of human children grown
    to fight and kill and die while shadows dance
    behind the fire’s light as darkness whispers.

    Copyright (C) 2012 TJ Radcliffe

    I simply love this image. You’ve caught his expression beautifully and the tones and textures come together perfectly.

    Given how much of my poetry your art has inspired in the past few years I’m delighted something I wrote helped inspire this, and with this poem I’m closing the circle! I’ve tried to catch the unsettled look on Marlowe’s face in the development of the poem, which doesn’t really end.

Leave a Reply

