Lady Belinda…

take that!

Recently my computer drawings have all been for Albion, so here’s another sneak peak. Lady Belinda is ready for “war” apparently! Of course she has a new dress, hairdo and battle-parasol for the occasion!

UPDATE: New poem from Tom! She sounds as tough as she looks… (or maybe it’s all in her head 😉

Like Boudicca of old I’m fighting
for English pride and English soil!
With my parasol a-smiting
see me join in war-like toil!
My battle-dress in bloody hues
will spread to all the dreadful news
of my arrival on the field!
The enemy shall surely yield
when they see my fierce visage
topped by locks in horned array
like a battle-helm in ways
dispelling all my soft mirage:
revealing all my inner fire
promising a fight that’s dire!

Copyright (C) 2012 TJ Radcliffe

image (cc) 2012 Hilary Farmer

2 Responses to “Lady Belinda…”

  1. Like Boudicca of old I’m fighting
    for English pride and English soil!
    With my parasol a-smiting
    see me join in war-like toil!
    My battle-dress in bloody hues
    will spread to all the dreadful news
    of my arrival on the field!
    The enemy shall surely yield
    when they see my fierce visage
    topped by locks in horned array
    like a battle-helm in ways
    dispelling all my soft mirage:
    revealing all my inner fire
    promising a fight that’s dire!

    Copyright (C) 2012 TJ Radcliffe

    Pretty thin I’m afraid, but that’s the nature of poetry on the last season of FRC build, apparently! Simply love how fierce she seems… I’m wondering if it’s another of the images that shows the world as she sees it, not remotely like it actually is!

    • I appreciate that you found the time to write at all! It sounds like you barely have time to sleep!
      I hadn’t thought along those lines but now that you mention it, it is very likely that Lady B is not as fierce as she thinks she is. Indeed all the English think the war is “win-able” when clearly it’s not!

Leave a Reply

