leaf studies enhanced with birds!

Well it has been quite a while. Very busy with work and doing many things but not much painting. So finally getting back to this pair that seemed to be lacking something. I think now that they may actually be finished – just missing the real (not digital)n signature.

female cardinal

female cardinal

I think she’s rather sweet 🙂

male cardinal

male cardinal

… and he just looks cheeky enough.

Picture them facing each other… or back to back if they’re having a bad day!

Cheers and hope to be posting more regularly!

UPDATE: Awesome poem from Tom in the comments to go with these paintings. Thanks!!

Come live with me and be my chick
I’ll bring you nesting-leaf and stick
And we will all the pleasures try
From depth of Earth to height of sky!

If bright colours were good troth
And poetry a law-sworn oath
Then with thee I’d gladly fly
For never would a lover lie.

I’ll help you dodge the long-eared owl
Leaving it to hoot and howl
As we escape through oak and elm
Free from fears that overwhelm.

Brave soldiers wearing red are wont
To praise their courage as the font
Of all that’s good and strong and wise
Yet still too many deal in lies.

I’ll crack hard acorns with my beak
To feed our hatchlings ere they speak
Find you cicadas on the wing
When in August heat they sing.

Bring me leaf and stick for nest
And I’ll count myself well-blessed
To build our castle in the sky
Then with you in pleasure fly!

Poem (c) 2014 Tom Radcliffe

paintings (cc) 2014 Hilary Farmer

 

3 Responses to “leaf studies enhanced with birds!”

  1. A Passionate Cardinal to His Love, and Her Reply
    (with apologies to Christopher Marlowe and Sir Walter Rayleigh)

    Come live with me and be my chick
    I’ll bring you nesting-leaf and stick
    And we will all the pleasures try
    From depth of Earth to height of sky!

        If bright colours were good troth
        And poetry a law-sworn oath
        Then with thee I’d gladly fly
        For never would a lover lie.

    I’ll help you dodge the long-eared owl
    Leaving it to hoot and howl
    As we escape through oak and elm
    Free from fears that overwhelm.

        Brave soldiers wearing red are wont
        To praise their courage as the font
        Of all that’s good and strong and wise
        Yet still too many deal in lies.

    I’ll crack hard acorns with my beak
    To feed our hatchlings ere they speak
    Find you cicadas on the wing
    When in August heat they sing.

        Bring me leaf and stick for nest
        And I’ll count myself well-blessed
        To build our castle in the sky
        Then with you in pleasure fly!

    The originals can be found here: http://www2.latech.edu/~bmagee/201/marlowe/shepherd_&_notes.htm

    This contains a moderate amount of actual cardinal lore: females do build the nest, sometimes with materials supplied by the male, and the male does care for and feed the offspring–not acorns, but other grains and seeds–while the female sits on the next clutch of eggs. They also eat beetles, snails and cicadas, and the bark and flowers of elms (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Cardinal)

    If I’ve done this right the female’s verses are inset four spaces. If I haven’t, the whole thing probably looks pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

