today’s doodle – two crows…

two crows joy

two crows joy

For some reason, I was thinking during the week that the next bird in the series needed to be a crow. When I started to look for interesting photos for inspiration, I was reminded of the rhyme “one crow sorrow, two crows joy…” and so of course decided to do two crows – more of a challenge too! I actually did a computer doodle on that theme some time ago (2011!). In any case, I found this fabulous photo (scroll down – it’s the eighth photo in their post) and got to work.

This time, I left the drawing strictly black and white with just a bit of pencil shading – which seemed right for the subject. I had originally thought that it would be 3 1/2″x 5″ like the last doodles I posted but the crows took over the page and spilled onto the margin. Once again, inspired by “Zentangle”… I am pretty pleased with the effect.

UPDATE: New poem from Tom just right for the image as usual – thanks Tom!

We’ve gotta stick together, Bud,
upon this cable’s span
clinging ‘gainst the gusty winds
that blow from Autumn’s fan.

I’ll lean on you, you lean on me
we’ll be OK together
no matter what tomorrow brings,
nor even what the weather.

You’re lookin’ slightly hollow there
your wickerwork’s askew
but stick with me and sure as eggs [*]
you know I’ll stick with you.

Then in the Spring we’ll fly away
and build us nests of gold:
fresh straw and twigs, the very best,
for Fortune’s with the bold

and who is bolder than we two
who cling to this thin wire
up in the sky while groundling folk
stand firmly in the mire?

It isn’t always pleasant here
but ain’t the view just fine?
And when you’re famous-rich I’ll say
you was a friend of mine!

poem (c) 2015 TJ Radcliffe

image (cc) 2015 Hilary Farmer

8 Responses to “today’s doodle – two crows…”

  1. Beautiful textures. There could be a world hiding in there. Again, I love comparing it with the original. More, please!

  2. I LOVE this! I have a real love for crow images, and I love your design, pattern choices, etc. They look like they have real “weight and substance”. 🙂

  3. Good one Hillary; reminded me of this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVLUeXkzUjM

  4. We’ve gotta stick together, Bud,
    upon this cable’s span
    clinging ‘gainst the gusty winds
    that blow from Autumn’s fan.

    I’ll lean on you, you lean on me
    we’ll be OK together
    no matter what tomorrow brings,
    nor even what the weather.

    You’re lookin’ slightly hollow there
    your wickerwork’s askew
    but stick with me and sure as eggs [*]
    you know I’ll stick with you.

    Then in the Spring we’ll fly away
    and build us nests of gold:
    fresh straw and twigs, the very best,
    for Fortune’s with the bold

    and who is bolder than we two
    who cling to this thin wire
    up in the sky while groundling folk
    stand firmly in the mire?

    It isn’t always pleasant here
    but ain’t the view just fine?
    And when you’re famous-rich I’ll say
    you was a friend of mine!

    [*] http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/sure+as+eggs

    🙂

Leave a Reply

