today’s doodles – two versions of a portrait

first try - "too realistic"

first try – “too realistic”

Well my friend Tom (who regularly posts poems on my blog) commissioned a portrait in the style of the crows in the previous post. If I haven’t posted for a while, it’s because it’s taken a while to sort out how I might do that. I have never done even a traditional portrait before so this was quite a challenge! The first try above was not as much in the style as Tom was looking for. I was pleased that it actually had a reasonable likeness but then got back to work!

that's more like it!

that’s more like it!

This version is pretty quirky and I think it captures some of the inner Tom. He seems to like it too!
The poem below was part of the original inspiration for the portrait.

Identity

I am made of rusty steel
and old sun-hardened leather;
flagellating ligaments
of gut and binder twine.
Behold the man:
an awkward compilation
of inadequate exigencies
unversed in protocol.
Analogue approximations
rule my sovereign deviations
while digital domains complete
halting victory’s defeat.
An adequate attempt at love
is all that I desire;
rough and ready, that’s enough,
a poet’s burning lyre.

images (cc) 2015 Hilary Farmer
poem (c) Tom Radcliffe

12 Responses to “today’s doodles – two versions of a portrait”

  1. Very nice. I like the interplay of the organic left side with the interlaced cogs of the right side. Was this a purposeful take on the left brain/right brain paradigm or merely accidental?

  2. Seeing these together makes me appreciate both of them in new ways! Thank you so much for your work on this! And sorry for being such a demanding client! 🙂

  3. Wonderful, especially the second portrait. Makes me think of tattoos 🙂

  4. […] saying to our long-form instructor at VTLS last week that I saw my job now was to learn to bring the two halves of my personality together in improv the way I do in […]

  5. As I said on the phone, now that I’ve received the original I’m absolutely blown away by it! Wonderful, brilliant, work!

Leave a Reply

