English Bay …oil painting

20170505-English-Bay

English Bay

We were walking along the shore in Kitsilano a week or so ago and were treated to a spectacular sky with the sun starting to set and gaps in the clouds allowing light to stream through. I didn’t take a picture at that time but the image stuck in my head so that when I went back more recently I took some photos with the idea of combining photos and memory into a painting. As a result this small (6″x6″) painting is a somewhat imaginary landscape which is English Bay but not from an exact viewpoint. I plan to return to this – there are so many ways it could be painted!

Tom wrote a lovely poem for this painting which catches the mood and essence of the piece in just a few words.

Sky of promise
Touching quiet sea
Held within the ragged arms of land
Blazing moments
Reaching out to me
Falling from the air into my hand

image (c) 2017 Hilary Farmer
poem (c) 2017 Tom Radcliffe

6 Responses to “English Bay …oil painting”

  1. I love the composition, with the sunlight trying to pierce through in the middle, and giving balance to the slightly darker border sides. I also love how the wide strokes carry that light throughout the image, as if we are looking at the scenery through eyes that just woke up.

Leave a Reply

